My First Book Signing

10689864_876241675734318_5639417681194030846_n

Me signing autographs for my rabid fans. 🙂

Last night my local writers group had our very first book signing/release party to celebrate our first anthology. It is a collection of scary stories that we put together for Halloween. The name of it is Wicked Words and it’s available here: http://www.amazon.com/Wicked-Words-Collection-Stories-Wordsmiths/dp/1502401371/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1413380071&sr=8-1&keywords=wicked+words. The turnout was actually pretty good, I thought, and we sold through the majority of the copies we had on hand. It was a very surreal experience, and my emotions were all over the place, from excitement, to wistfulness, and everything in between.
As I was sitting there, signing the copies of the book as they came my way, I realized that it was the first time in quite a while that I’d actually felt like I was getting somewhere with my writing. It’s been over a year since I published The Guardian, and while I’ve been slowly working on it and two other projects, recently much isn’t getting done currently. As I’ve said before, the lulls come and go.
Another thing that was weighing heavily on my mind as I was signing the books was my mother. As I watched a couple of the other members’ parents come and show their support, it really made me wish my mom was still here to see all that I’ve accomplished. I know people will say things like “Oh, she’s smiling down from Heaven” and yadda yadda, but honestly, that means nothing to me and offers absolutely no comfort to me whatsoever. I actually really want to punch people in the face when they say things like that to me.
A fond memory from high school also found its way in. By the time I reached high school, I was adamant that I was going to be famous, be it for acting, singing, writing, whatever. Anytime I would sign anything for a friend or teacher, I would tell them to hang on to that autograph, because one day it would be worth something. Of course, once I remembered this I had to share the memory and we all got a good laugh at the recollection. I guess I’ve always felt a need to prove my worth and what better way than to become famous. While I’m not exactly there yet, after last night I hope I’m on my way.

One comment

  1. Marsha Blevins, Author · October 16, 2014

    I know you mom would’ve been so proud of you. I just love that we got to do our first ever book signing together!

Leave a Reply

