Back With a Bang!!

Hello, my faithful followers! I’m very sorry I’ve been gone from you for so long, but such is the way it goes when life gets in the way. (Piece to come on that next week.) For right now, I’ve been inspired by this new Facebook Challenge that is going around. No, it’s not the dreaded ice bucket challenge, though I will admit that did provide some great laughs for many. NO, this is the “Name 10 Books That Have Stayed With You” challenge. So I was tagged and accepted the challenge. And what a challenge it was. As I said when I initially posted it, it was like choosing favorite limbs! Or like Lays potato chips! No one can eat just one! But alas, I did manage to choose ten of my dear favorites. However, I really wanted to explain why I chose the ones I did. And I wasn’t the only one! Several of my writerly comrades felt that need also. So, here goes…

Number 1: The Silver Kiss by Annette Curtis Klause

I chose this one because this was the book that inspired me to become a writer. I read it when I was twelve and once I’d finished it I remember thinking about all of the what-ifs. What if this would have happened this way and what if this wouldn’t have happened, etc. That very same weekend I locked myself in my cousins bedroom, only leaving to grab food and run to the bathroom, and wrote my first lengthy short story. I was bitten, no pun intended, lol.

Number 2: The Dreaming Place by Charles DeLint

I chose this one because I just absolutely loved it and quite frequently I just spontaneously find myself remembering it. I was probably around the same age when I read this one as I was when I read the Silver Kiss. To this day I am a big Charles DeLint fan.

Number 3: Interview With the Vampire by Anne Rice

Is there really an explanation needed? She is my all time favorite author and for anyone who loves vampires the way I do, this book along with the others in the Vampire Chronicles series, is an absolute staple!

Number 4: The Sun Also Rises by Earnest Hemingway

This was the first thing I’d ever read by Hemingway and I fell in love. This book was amazing and only reinforced my desire to live as an expat.

Number 5: The Awakening by Kate Chopin

First, this is more of a novella than it is an actual book, but it is one of my absolute favorites so it went on the list. The reason I chose it was because a the time I read it I really connected with the character and could really feel everything thing she was going through. I’d NEVER actually connected and felt a character this way before. Really, if you think about it, I do think people connect more with certain books depending on what they’re going through at the time they read them.

Number 6: The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

I chose these books for a couple of reasons. The first being that they truly are a genius work of art. The second being my mother. She began the whole Harry Potter craze in my immediate family and it was something special that she and I shared. She absolutely adored those books and the movies. At least the movies she got to finish. Sadly, she passed before she could see the final installments. She would have loved them.

Number 7: The Sweet Valley High Series by Francine Pascal

Oh my gosh, what girl didn’t read these when she was in middle/high school? I was probably eleven when I began reading them and I devoured them. I wasn’t much of a reader at all until I discovered these. So I guess you could say these books are responsible for my reading addiction.

Number 8: The Flame and the Flower by Kathleen Woodiwiss

This is another that stems back to my mother. Kathleen Woodiwiss was to her as Anne Rice is to me. She gave this book to me to read when I was probably around fifteen or sixteen and I loved it. This book is probably why I have such a penchant for writing romance, whether I like it or not, lol.

Number 9: The Help by Katherine Stockett

I know this is a fairly recent one but it’s an amazing read. I love books that make me feel every single emotion there is to feel and this one did. I laughed, cried, raged. Everything!

And finally, Number 10: Flowers in the Attic by VC Andrews

I was probably sixteen or seventeen when I read this. I’d seen the movie and had really like it, but had no clue that it was based on a book. So when I found it, as well as the others at my cousin Marsha’s one day, I had to read it. Now, in this series, I’ve only read the first one in this series, but her next series, Heaven, I’ve read all of and I actually have quite the extensive VC Andrews collection. I’ve not read them all yet, but at least I’ll have them for when I’m ready. 🙂

So there you have it! My Top Ten Books! I hope this inspires everyone think about their favorites and what they mean to them and why. I’m glad to be back, blogging and inspiring and writing and such. Till next week everyone!!

3 comments

  1. Pingback: 10 Books: A List of Mine | Marble's Words
  2. Marsha Blevins, Author · September 5, 2014

    Oh yes! The Help and The Awakening are great ones. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Ten Books | Sarah Davis Writes

Leave a Reply

