Motivation… It comes and goes…

Okay, so I promised myself that when I began this whole blogging venture I would stick with it, posting regularly. My goal was to post at least once a week. In the beginning it worked out that way. Then, yes, sadly enough, the momentum left me.

I began this blog in the hopes of building a reader platform, which I’ve been advised I simply must do if I plan to have any success with self-publishing. That makes sense. I get that. But what do you do when the determination and drive just isn’t there any more?

It’s strange, this whole motivation and determination thing. I can go for weeks and be so hell bent on my writing career that I just know nothing is going to stop me from writing the next big thing. Dreams of book contracts with substantial advances and optioned movie rights dance their jig in my head. Things happen, however small, to keep me moving forward. Then the high slowly begins to wind back down…

Then come the days where I ask myself what the hell I’m doing and why the hell am I doing it. The doubt creeps in, quietly and maliciously taunting me from the back of my mind. “You really think you’re good enough to be doing this? There are so many authors and books in the world, what makes you so special? It’s all been done before,” she says. I stop writing. I go for days, hell, weeks, and not write anything. I begin to search for other options, or worse yet, I resign myself to my fate and try and accept the fact that I’ll be stuck working crappy, horrible, thankless retail jobs for the rest of my life. It’s always when I get to that point that something happens. The sun comes back out and I’m motivated again.

It could be anything that triggers it really. It could be the royalty check, however small, that I see deposited into my account. Hey, that means someone has actually purchased my book! A stranger, someone I didn’t even know, actually purchased my book! It could be the person that you do know a little stopping by your crappy retail job just to tell you that she finished your book, loved it, and can’t wait until the next one. It could be that she tells you she cried at the exact part that you wanted your readers to cry, meaning you accomplished what you meant to with that scene and did it damn well. It could be that you continually see someone else living YOUR DAMN DREAM!

So how do you keep yourself motivated so you can consistently be productive? If we knew the answer, there would probably be gads more successful authors out there. For right now though, for today, I am motivated and determined, and I will achieve as much as possible before this flow of motivation ebbs.

One comment

  1. Marsha Blevins, Author · May 8, 2014

    The ebb and flow of motivation is horrible! I do the same things…big dreams followed by even bigger doubts. All I can say is this: Glad you are working on Book 2 now. Please keep up with them so I don’t have to curse you like I do the glacially slow GRRM.

Leave a Reply

